Utilizamos cookies propias y de terceros para recopilar información estadística del uso de nuestra página web y mostrarle publicidad relacionada con sus preferencias mediante el análisis de sus hábitos de navegación. Si continua navegando, consideramos que acepta su uso. Puede cambiar la configuración u obtener más información aquí.
Real Academia Española

Real Academia Española

Madrid, España, 1713

The Real Academia Española (RAE) was created in Madrid in 1713 under the initiative of Juan Manuel Fernández Pacheco (1650 - 1725). In its first weeks, the RAE was made up of eleven members. Its constitution was later officially approved by a royal charter of King Philip V. The RAE, whose main precedent and model was the Académie Française founded by Cardinal Richelieu in 1635, set itself the essential objective from its inception of developing a dictionary of the Castilian language, “the most copious possible”. This purpose became a reality with the publication of the Diccionario de autoridades, published in six volumes between 1726 and 1739. The first edition of the Gramática was published in 1771. Installed in its current academic headquarters in Madrid on the street of Felipe IV since 1894, the institution has adapted its functions to the demands and needs of society. The current statutes, approved in 1993, establish as a fundamental objective of the Academy “to ensure that the Spanish language, in its continuous adaptation to the needs of speakers, does not break its essential unity”.